Monday, February 3, 2014


When the House of Assembly reopens for the Spring session, the Liberal caucus will have grown by four MHAs since last it met.

In a big blow to the government, Liberal Sam Slade picked up former Energy Minister Jerome Kennedy's seat in a by-election in late November. He was sworn in as a MHA on December 11th.

An even bigger blow was delivered to the government when PC MHA Paul Lane exchanged his blue sweater for a red one. The Mount Pearl South MHA blamed Premier Kathy Dunderdale's failed leadership for his defection.

Now the media is reporting that former NDP MHAs Dale Kirby and Christopher Mitchelmore will pay an oath of fealty to Liberal Leader Dwight Ball tomorrow.

That will bring the total number of MHAs sitting in the Liberal Caucus to 11, up five from the 2011 general election.

- Posted using BlogPress from my i

No comments: